h1

OS X Leopard 300 + features, but missing one

October 21, 2007

I can’t wait for 10.5, and it’s 300 plus features. Some of them I find very compelling. However, apple have still not included a very basic and fundamental requirement within an OS – a simple and reliable way to un-install an application.

It may be that the un-installer is a function of the installer and simply isn’t listed. There is no mention of the installer being updated in what I’ve read of X-Code. I don’t remember an installer being mentioned as a feature of previous releases of either the OS or X-Code.

Correct me if I’m wrong.

Admittedly most modern Cocoa apps are installed as a package that contains all the associated and needed components, and the process is fairly straight forward. But some, (Adobe amongst others), scatter files across multiple folders, such as application support and various libraries etc.

I find it hard to believe that with the most advanced operating system in the world such a feature doesn’t exist.

A friend of mine on the other side of the planet mailed me last week asking me how to un-install a particular application. I suggested a way of doing it through the Finder which isn’t reliable, and then I had to suggest a couple of third party alternatives. Instead of making the Finder ugly here, here (not a permalink) and here, why not give us something useful? Sort it out apple.

Leave a Reply

