h1

Icon Design 2

May 11, 2007

As I mentioned in the previous post, designing icons for an application is not a straight forward process. Should the icon attempt to describe the function of the application, or represent the application in some way? For years Photoshop used to use an image of an eye elaborated in some way, sort of makes sense. Why Venus was used for Illustrator is a complete mystery to me and I’ve never been able to find out why it was used, not that I looked that hard.

Then in CS, Photoshop came with a feather, then in CS2 it came with a different feather leaning in the opposite direction. Can someone tell me what a feather has to do with Photoshop? It’s a command within the application, but so is Burn, why not have a flame? Except of course, the word Burn is more associated with recording a CD or DVD.

Some time ago I knocked together a browser using Interface Builder, part of XCode from a tutorial on MacDevCenter. I called it iBrowse. A little tongue in cheek, but it not only described the application’s function, it also allowed me to use a play on words for the icon.

ibrowse4.jpg

Leave a Reply

